Smells Like the Only Nirvana Song You Probably Know

The 90’s are back baby! Grungy band tees, Baby Spice platform shoes, and tattoo chokers can be seen all over the street fashion scene, and if you don’t believe me, just ask the entire population of the audience at the Justin Bieber concert I attended last night. Every direction I looked I could see a girl sporting a jean skort or see through every bubble backpack they had on their shoulders, and yall, I loved it! As a girl who grew up on a decade of Rugrats and pogs (which I still have no idea what they actually do) I thrive in jean jackets and combat boots while blaring Britney’s Hit Me Baby One More Time album on my repeat.

It can get really tricky to understand and rock all these trends on a daily basis but no worries. I have the answer for you and that answer is holographic makeup. It is the easiest to pull off and looks stellar. Think Zenon Girl of the Twenty-first Century but toned down about six levels. These are some of my favorite products that work on every skin tone:

 

FullSizeRender (2)

MAC has some of the best, if not the best, glitters on the market. They are long lasting and the color selection is huge. To rock a 90’s pop star look, spread MAC glitter in Reflects Transparent Teal all over the lid. Keep the rest of the face simple with just mascara and a nude lip.

 

FullSizeRender (1)

Mirabella’s new highlighter is an iridescent dream. This shade, Swirling Pearl, has just enough light reflecting power to shine like a disco ball without overdoing it. When it comes to holographic makeup, this is one of the best ones on the market. It’s the only highlighter I have found that gives off different shades, including blue, in different lighting while also being peach based.

 

FullSizeRender

Pretty much anything with the word opal in it’s name is a sure fire hit when it comes to the holographic trend and Opal Sky by MUD is no exception. Use it as a normal eyeshadow or pop it anywhere you would normally place a highlighter. This shadow will instantly bring a blue based brightening hue to your complexion without over doing it. Trust me when I say it is the perfect end to any makeup look.

 

 

FullSizeRender (3)

Lastly, and certainly not least, my favorite, my go-to, my main squeeze, Opal Creme De Lip Gloss by BITE. This Canadian brand can only be purchased at Sephora and is the best lip gloss I’ve ever owned. I keep one in my makeup kit, one in my person makeup storage, and one in my bag in case of emergencies. Wear it alone for that holographic look we scrunchy wearing babes dream of or layer it on top of your favorite lipstick for an out of this world shine.

There it is: my four essentials in my collection for a liquid shine that any Kelly Kapowski fan will be jealous of. Whip out your Alanis Morissette vinyl and your Goosebumps books to finish off the look and be the coolest of the cool in no time.

 

 

written by: Mary

Leave a Reply

