Fashion For The Face

Dolce and Gabbana, Roberto Cavali, Versace. If you hear these words you probably think fashion that is so sick you’d give your left hand just to to get a seat at the runway show. But to me, these designers not only influence what we wear on our bodies but also what we wear on our faces. I’m no Rachel Zoe so I don’t feen over fringe and faux fur but I could watch the models trot down the runway for hours just for the makeup. The clean, flat, monotoned faces, bold brows, graphic liners, and flesh colored lips were these designers go-to’s in New York during this past fashion week and my go-to’s everyday.

Screw the people who say makeup should be minimal. Makeup is my favorite part of the day for many reasons; I get to relax, focus on myself, and create. What more could a girl like me ask for? To achieve this fashion forward look, start with a good base. I cleanse with Farmacy Clear Bloom Cleansing Oil, followed by Mad Hippie Vitamin C Serum, and finish off with a sunscreen. Once that has set in I apply foundation, then concealer around my eyes and anywhere I need to spot conceal. I set my entire face with an HD powder and I’m done with my face, maybe I’ll apply bronzer on my temples of I’m feeling frisky. I hate blush on myself and kinda wish the rest of the population would stop looking at me like I committed a crime when I say that. To top off the makeup look I add matte black liner, volumising mascara, and spend a good 20 minutes making sure my eyebrows look effortlessly amazing. It’s a hard job but someone has to do it. 

I swear I’m not a nerd, but I will always remember the scene in Star Wars where Queen Amidala appears with pale white skin and lipstick just on the middle of her bottom lip. I swear if that was acceptable I’d rock it every day! Thank the fashion gods for rocking this look on the runway and thank the heavenly God I’m boss enough to pull it off.
written by: Mary 

Leave a Reply

