A Closer Look at Glossier

I just ordered a couple products from Glossier, and not only do I love the products but I also absolutely fell in love with the company itself. If Glossier could transform itself into a man, preferably about 6’4, and keep every inch of sweetness, coolness, naturalness, and downright awesomeness I would marry that human in a heartbeat. One of my favorite YouTubers, Estee Lalonde, wrote an article on Glossier products on her blog and thought it would be a great article to share with you guys. You can find her website here and her YouTube channel here.

 

Makeup First. Skin Second. Smile Always. 

If you’re a beauty lover and haven’t heard of Glossier, where have you been hiding? Glossier is a beauty brand created by Emily Weiss and her team at Into The Gloss – let’s call it their love child. Launched in 2014, it has grown a large social media following on Instagram, Tumblr, Snapchat and more. Currently, it’s only sold on their e-commerce site, however, there is a special trio back of their Balm Dotcom available on Net-A-Porter. Because it’s only sold mainly on their own site, only US citizens are able to get their hands on it, which in turn creates such a bigger hype for people around the world. I was lucky enough to be sent a selection of their products to test and I’m here to share my thoughts!

GENERATION G LIPSTICK IN CAKE

After starting with skincare, they have finally released a wider range of makeup including lipsticks. Described as ‘lip colour that gives the look and finish of a stain, but that glides on and wears like a tinted balm‘, it ticks all the right boxes for me when I’m wanting to wear a touch of colour. I went for Cake, a warm peachy nude which is a universally flattering shade. The application of the lipstick is super smooth and applies like a dream, leaving a soft flush of colour on the lips. Based on this product alone, it has made me want to try the other shades, especially Jam. The one downside of this product is the packaging as it feels like a cheap plastic casing, which they could definitely improve on.

BALM DOTCOM

Being one of the first products they launched, it’s understandable that so many people love this product and I finally understand the hype of it. It’s a universal skin salve with unlimited uses, not just a simple lip balm! It’s packed with antioxidants, castor seed oil, beeswax and natural emollients to help create a dense balm to be used on the skin. Alongside using it as a standard lip balm, it can be used as a highlighter (which works so well in the summer for a gloss, rather than a shimmer), on the eyes for a glossy eye look, on elbows for dry skin and cuticles. I found that the feeling of the product lasts for a good 2+hrs on my lips, so it gets the thumbs up from me.

glossier

Glossier-Mega-Greens-Galaxy-Pack-2

MEGA GREENS GALAXY DETOXIFYING FACE MASK

After Phase 1 was released, the face masks came along as. As a mask lover, I was excited to see how much they would work and compare to other brands. Meant to purify, balance and nourish the skin, it has all the usual components that other cleansing masks too. The first time I tried it, I applied a thick layer & it still didn’t dry after 30 mins of wearing it, so I finally realised that you only need a thin layer for it to work properly. After applying a thin layer of the mask, you will quickly realise that it also dries clear, which I haven’t found in any other mask before. It left my skin feeling cleansed, but still hydrated as it didn’t leave my skin feeling tight. If you have sensitive/dry/dehydrated skin and often find it hard to find a cleansing mask which is suitable for your skin – this one is for you.

MOISTURIZING MOON SOOTHING FACE MASK

To follow up after the Mega Greens Mask, there is a moisturising mask to soothe and hydrate the deep-cleansed skin. It’s a brightening, moisturising cream mask with key ingredients such as honey and aloe, hyaluronic acid, lemon extracts and liquorice root. With this, I applied a thick layer and let it do it’s thing for 30 minutes or so. Wash it off with lukewarm water, before following up with your choice of toner and moisturiser. You should be left with plumped skin, the perfect base for makeup! And I absolutely love the name and packaging of this one!

written by: mary
Leave a Reply

