10 Best Beauty Buys for Under $5

Growing up, I always watched my mother scurry to the back of the stores and immediately dive into those messy, unorganized sales racks. At the time I sat back and rolled my eyes dreaming of the day I had my own money to blow on the trendy tops I passed on the way to the cave of 50% off. Fast forward 20 years later and I don’t actually buy as many of those expensive items that I once imagined. I work multiple jobs for my money and just the thought of handing over $60 on one item makes me want to cry. What is most surprising though is the rush of excitement  that I get when I find a cheap item that I love, and if we’re talking makeup and beauty items then it’s like Christmas. Don’t get me wrong, I love MAC lipstick and Beauty Blenders are a dream but these cheaper products are staples in my everyday makeup and they are second to none when it comes to formulation and application. Soon you’ll be wondering why you spent that Lincoln on a latte when you could have picked up one of these bad boys.

1. Sunny Bronzer by NYC

This product is a cult favorite and for good reason. It’s the only drugstore bronzer that doesn’t make me splotchy or look like I just smeared dirt on my face. It’s smooth as butter and always sold out, so if you come across it but all of them!

cheap sunny

cheap taupe

2. NYX Blush in Taupe

Everyone and their mothers wants a contoured look (thanks Kim K) but not everyone has $68 to throw down on a Kevin Aucoin Sculpting Palette. This blush is the perfect contour shade for anyone that is fair to medium skin toned. The ashy tone makes your shadow appear natural as oppose to using a bronzer which will warm up your skin and not look so clean.

3. e.l.f. High Definition Under Eye Setting Powder

I swear e.l.f. captured all the fairies from Neverland and used their pixie dust to create this shadow. It is so finely milled and soft that it compares to any high-end brand’s powders. I not only use this under my eyes for a no-crease look when setting my concealer but I slather it all over my face to keep my oil under control.

cheap 3

4. Milani Gel Powder Eyeshadow

You’re welcome. That is really all I need to say once you try these. Not blotchy, such amazing pigment, phenomenal shade range, and hella cheap. What more could you ask for in a drugstore eyeshadow??

cheappp

5. Ardell Demi Wispies Lashes

Every celebrity MUA has multiple sets of these in their kit and for good reason. These are the perfect everyday lash. Not too long, not too short; not too voluminous, not too sparse. The perfect balance.

cheap lashes

cheap prime

6. Rimmel Stay Matte Primer

This does exactly what it claims: keeps your skin staying matte. It is a perfect product for anyone in the summer heat and oily girls year round. Apply it underneath makeup or alone for a smooth finish when you’re running out the door into this heat wave we call North Carolina.

7. non-crease hair ties

Next time you are in Salt make sure to grab a couple of these hair ties. These babies A. don’t crease your hair B. don’t give you a headache when you have been rocking that pony a little too long and C. look way better than elastics on your wrist.

cheap hair

8. NYX Butter Gloss

Okay, so I may or may not have this in every shade. Sorry not sorry. Hands down my favorite gloss of all time. No other lip product compares in creaminess to these Butter Glosses. Plus, Ulta usually has NYX lip product buy one get one 50% off so it’s really just a perfect place to stock up.

cheap butta

9. Colourpop Metallic Eyeshadows

Colourpop is an online company that just started to gain popularity. They have amazing products but I have to say that their eyeshadows in metallic form are my favorite. Wet or dry, they work wonders on your eyes. They have a super weird texture, almost spongey, but it somehow works. The fallout is slim to none which is rare for a shimmery shadow and the payoff is stupid good!

cheap 111

10. Morphe eye brushes

Cheap brushes usually aren’t even decent and good quality brushes are usually the same price as a four course meal. And then there is Morphe. This company has nailed the concept of creating non expensive brushes with expensive quality. The blend fast, apply without question, and pack on color comparable to Sigma brushes. I have never found a Morphe brush that I do not love.

cheap morphe

 
written by: mary

Leave a Reply

