Easy Halloween Costumes You Can Conquer In Time For All Hallow’s Eve

Halloweek: Day 2. Also in case you weren’t stressed enough, there is only four days until we all dress up and get our drink on (Saturday obvi, because we all work now and can’t skip work on Tuesday because we’re hungover.). Don’t you worry your little souls though, mama Mary is here to help you get through this tough time.

If you are anything like me, you pin costumes starting on November 1st and have all the intentions of going balls to the wall every Halloween. When October rolls around however, those Pinterest boards don’t come in handy as much as you’d like. Between work, social events, hurricane season, your friend’s wedding, the new season of Walking Dead, and normal adult responsibilities costumes just don’t make the cut into the list of “Things I Need to Accomplish before October 25th”. I have rummaged through websites, broken out old picture albums, and stalked a many of friends on Facebook to bring you a list of 5 costumes you can pull off when you only have limited time and even limited creative juices.

1. Mary Poppins

halloween

If Lauren Conrad can do it, then so can you. Okay, actually I take that back. Mrs. Conrad is a sweet baby angel sent from heaven to teach us all how to look wonderfully innocent and smart at the same time while also having the gift of crafting tucked away in her back pocket, ready to pull out at any given time. But damn does she make this look easy. And it is! I have this costume tucked away right now if I get invited to an impromptu  party. All you need is a white shirt, a black or navy A-line skirt, tights, and black shoes which you probably already own. Then, borrow a man’s red bowtie, or run to Walmart where I purchased one for $3, super glue/velcro/ duct tape fake flowers onto a hat, and grab an umbrella. Or to step it up a notch carry around a spoon and some sugar and chase your shots because, well, you know the song.

2. Runaway Bride

halloweenn

A wise man once said, “I-N-D-E-P-E-N-D-E-N-T do you know what that means?”. This is for all the girls out there who ain’t no wifey and don’t need no man. Thanks for the bridal shower gifts, but I gotta go! Grab a pair of running shorts, a white top (preferably a fancy one or the corset you used a couple years ago to be the White Swan), break out the Nikes, throw on some costume jewelry and a cheap veil. Finally throw in some earphones and walk out the door. This could easily be your chance to channel Rachel Green and repeat “What if I don’t want to be a shoe, what if I want to be a purse or a hat? No, daddy I don’t want you to buy me a hat, I’m saying I am a hat!” So basically, this is the best costume on the list. I don’t know how you can top any costume with a Friends reference.

3. TY Beanie Baby

halloweennnn

Okay, ya know when I said I couldn’t top a Rachel Green inspired costume? I take that back. This may be just as good. Anyone born in the 80’s or 90’s can not tell me that they didn’t secretly collect these or only go to McDonalds for the beanie baby toys. The nostalgia in these costumes are as great as it gets. And you’ll never guess, it’s so easy! Cut the tag out of cardboard and tie around your neck, add any animal ears you or your bestie has that you can borrow and BOOM you’re done. Seriously the cutest, easiest, cheapest costume that you won’t see a thousand of *cough Harley Quinn cough*.

4. Aunt Bethany

halowen

I pledge allegiance to flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all. Amen. Oh, that isn’t an acceptable prayer on Christmas? Well, take that up with the Griswalds because I think they would beg to differ. The best character in the entire movie, Aunt Bethany, is also an easy costume for last minute girls. Drive on over the the thrift store, or to your grandma’s closet, and pick up a fur coat and classic old lady suit. Add knee highs, a cat in a box, and start singing the National Anthem whenever you see Christmas lights. Remember, if people don’t know who you are then remind them to rewatch the classic and compliment you after.

5. Toddlers and Tiaras

halloweeen

About three years ago me and my best friend went as our favorite girls from the popular tv show. White shirts, volleyball shorts, a child’s tiara from dollar tree, a homemade sash, and a paci completed this outfit. I had the pleasure of becoming Mackenzie, ya know the Ni-Ni loving, Diva Day attending, temper tantrum having little nugget who has more sass than anyone I know. If you don’t know who I’m referring to then watch tis clip and fall in love:

written by: mary
Leave a Reply

