Who You Gonna Call?

If you did not immediately say “GHOSTBUSTERS” when you read the title of this blog, then I don’t know if I really want to be your friend. I grew up with a brother who was/is still obsessed with the original and I am just as equally in love with the new remake. Both great, either version will suffice for this years Halloween inspo. I am going to a party Saturday and the great, lovely, sweet, southern girl I am offered to bring a snack. Looking up recipes, I knew exactly what I wanted to make…anything Ghostbuster related. So, break out the VHS player and let’s get started!

 

 

ghostbusters-green-slimed-popcorn

First out of the gate is the wonderful, ooey-gooey slime. It’s green, neon, and sticky to your fingers aka all I image the real slime would be. Start by melting 2 cups of
marshmallows (which equal about 12 large mallows), 1 tbs vanilla, and 1/2 stick of butter. Remove from heat and add in 6 drops of green food coloring and 4-5 drops of yellow and mix mix mix. After everything is an even color pour the mixture over 8 cups of freshly popped popcorn. Stir with buttered spoon, or my favorite way, grease up your hands and get dirty. From 7 to 77, everyone will love this sticky, sweet and salty treat!

 

 

ecto.jpg

 

Second on the list is my person favorite: my version of an Ectocooler. Yall, when I say I was obsessed I mean it. Do not take that statement lightly. So, when I became a bartender I was determined to make a drink that tasted and looked like my favorite Hi-C creation from my childhood. And I did it! First off fill your glass all the way to the top with ice. ALL THE WAY. To that add 1 1/2 shots of Malibu Coconut Rum. Fill the glass about all the way up with Mountain Dew and finish with a little orange juice, pulp free. Add a bendy straw and you are right back in your childhood. Although, I hope no child is drinking rum.

 

 

ghosts

Lastly, we are falling back into the slime because we all know that is one of the coolest
parts of the movie. This slime fondue is for the classy ladies in the back. Start by melting 2 cups marshmallows and 1/2 evaporated milk over low heat and stir often until all the marshmallows are melted. Add 1 cup white chocolate and 6 drops of each green and yellow food coloring, stirring until melted. Pour into serving dish or individual dishes and serve warm. Fruit, cake, assorted cookies, shoot even more marshmallows would all taste hella good dipped into this slimey goodness!

 

 

 

ghostggg

 

written by: mary
Leave a Reply

