A Little Tuesday Pick Me Up

Sunday scaries and Monday madness are both a real thing but since my work week starts on Tuesday I sometimes need a little pick me up. Last night I found myself laying in bed looking through Pinterest finding motivational quotes and this morning searching for the best girl boss books on Audiable to listen to while stuck in traffic. I thought I’d share some of my favorites that keep inspiring me with you guys, just in case you are feeling the Tuesday terribles like ya girl. I hope these inspire you to take on the world and see that glass of champagne as half full!pin.jpg

“The secret to change is to focus all of your energy not on fighting the old, but on building the new.” _Socrates

“I deserve the world, so I’m going to give it to myself.” _Boss Babe Inc.

“You should also know that whatever your gift is, nobody can do it quite like you. One of the biggest traps we fall into as women is the comparison trap, the ‘she’s got it all’ trap, the ‘she has more fans than me’ trap, or the ‘she’s making more money’ trap. We tend to stack ourselves up against everyone else and pick ourselves apart based on what other people are doing. This practice does nothing to make us better.” _Cara Alwill Leyba

“Follow your inner moonlight, don’t hide the madness.” _Allen Ginsberg

“You may see my struggle, but you’ll never see me quit.” _Leonardo DiCaprio

“The only thing I smoke is my competition” _Sophia Amoruse

good.jpg

girlboss-book-sophia-amoruso-nasty-gal.jpg

If you are looking for an author who has experienced what she is preaching, has a bad ass personality, and gives it to you straight Sophia is your girl. She writes with encouragement and honesty, not to mention the sketches she adds in are enough for me to recommend this book over and over.  Her clothing company blew up overnight but she doesn’t let the reader forget it took hard work and hustle over time.

21166358734_eee34453b0_z.jpg

I just started this on Audible and I am already in love. My favorite kind of girl power books are ones that stress the importance of positivity, believing in yourself, and supporting other women and this book does not disappoint on any level of those attributes. Not only do you get to hear from the author, a MTV producer who turned her tiny blog into a worldwide sensation, but also from multiple other women who inspire in all different fields.

is-everyone-hanging-out-with-me-by-mindy-kalingNot what you’d expect to be a typical empowering book, Mindy writes about being a writer in Hollywood, a true male-dominated scene. She has humor when you least expect it and is self-deprecating, which I have to admit is my favorite kind of humor. I couldn’t put this book down and read it cover to cover in one plane ride. She is the role model we all need in our lives and a true inspiration when it comes to breaking though stereotypes and achieving your goals.

2dafed85553ea29bd63c6c5e29f45f3e.jpg

written by: mary
Leave a Reply

