HAPPY GALENTINE’S DAY

February 14th: some question if it is really a holiday or just created by greeting card and candy companies. Loved by many, hated by some. But, February 13th: a true national holiday celebrating ladies and friends and really just a perfect day in general. Was it made up by a fictional character named Leslie Knope? Yes. But is that fiction character one of the best in media not today but ever? Another yes. If you aren’t a huge Parks and Recreation fan like me and this is your first Galentine’s Day grab the waffles and let’s get celebrating!

 

  1. Please please please pay tribute to the woman who started it all. The episode (season 2, episode 16 to be exact) can be found on Netflix and I expect all of you to watch it. Her mom’s story, mosaic portraits made of each recipients favorite soda bottle, and a 5000 word essay on why Leslie considers them a friend is enough to get you hooked, the Mouse Rat gig is just a plus. But if you are busy all day, or stuck at work and can’t stray for 30 minutes here’s a quick rundown by Leslie herself:

 

2. Read a book by a female author or one with a female protagonist. I have 1000 favorites of these (okay, thats an overkill) so I probably won’t have the time, or the energy, to give you every title but I will suggest some of my tops: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, The Scarlet Letter, Half The Sky, A Little Princess, Hunger Games, Hidden Figures, Harry Potter series, How To Build a Girl, White Girl Problems, and of course, Yes Please

 

3. Mark your calendars and set your TiVo for CNN’s documentary series “The History of Comedy” premiering Thursday at 10. It pays homage to the female comedians who fought their way to the top in a male-dominated field. It also includes female comedians from old school standup like Joan Rivers to newbies on the scene. Mindy Kaling once said, “I never want to be called the funniest Indian female that exist. I feel like I can go head to head with the best white, male comedy writers out there.” Humor, especially coming from a female prospective is honest and empowering and I commend CNN for exploring and sharing this adventure.

 

4. Cheers to the final season of Girls on HBO. I know I know, the third season kinda started going downhill and the characters got a little messy but no one can say Lena Dunham is anything but a baller, her fashion choices on the other hand may need some work. Dunham writes, produces, and stars in the show. Aka she has more responsibility than I will ever have in my entire life combined. “The success of  ‘Girls’ showed Hollywood that these kinds of apologetically feminist shows about complicated women created and produced by women are worth making,” says TV Guide. Uh duh Hollywood.

girls.jpg

 

5. Lastly, but most importantly hangout and catch up with your girlfriends. Galentine’s Day is a day celebrating women and the close knit circle each of us have. The trust, honesty, support, and love we all receive and give to our friends continue to prove that our girlfriends are our backbone. The older I get the more I believe that I couldn’t get through this hectic life without my best friends by my side. They lift me up when I’m down, give me a shoulder to cry on when I didn’t even ask for it, and there is absolutely no one else I would rather celebrate the extraordinary, tear jerking, amazing parts of my life with. They are more than my friends, they are family. So if any of you are reading this, thank you. Thank you for sharing in my silliness, accepting my flaws, and inspiring me everyday! Happy Galentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

